Shirkent. Traces of dinosaurs

Near Tursunzade, there is a valley of Shirkent River, where in June 1991 there was an establishment of natural and historical park, with the aim of preserving the gene pool of unique flora and fauna, ecosystems of natural and cultural values, as well as rational use, proper content and study of the south -western Hissar physico-geographical region. Monuments of nature and history in the valley of the Shirkent River have a great scientific and recreational significance and together with the picturesque landscapes make up the main content of the historical and natural park.

The most significant amongst the geological objects are three different aged dinosaur footprints, with a total number of 400 footprints of extinct lizards. The first location of ancient giant reptiles' footprints are located in one of the right tributaries of Shirkent, slightly higher than village with the same name. Here on the surface of sandy limestones you can find two chains of four-fingered footprints. The length of the prints are 50cm, with the width up to 30 cm, the length of the step is about 75 cm. Since footprints found in Shirkent were not described anywhere before, the breed of the dinosaur was classified as the new genus and species of dinosaurs from the suborder of theropods dinosaurs) and was named as Macropodosaurus gravis, which means "Bigger, heavier pangolin".

Information on the route

Distance from Dushanbe ~ 60 km, 2 hours walking, difficulty of the route - easy.

One-day hikes are available (Departure from Dushanbe at 6:30, arrival to Dushanbe at 19:00), It's possible to hike with children above 10 years old.

Route details

Departure at 6:45 , arriving to Tursunzade at 7:30 , 7:35 Transfer by the truck from Tursunzade to Shirkent, arrival at Shirkent at 9:45 , a light breakfast at 9:50 , the beginning of the hike at 10:00 , lunch at 13:00 , 19:00 Arrival to Dushanbe.

For maximum comfort we recommend to bring a headdress, towel, and an extra pair of shoes. On the way to Shirkent Natural Park we will hike through many wild plants, so we highly recommend to wear long-sleeved tank tops, shirts and light athletic pants.

Ширкент. Следы динозавров

Недалеко от города Турсун-Заде берёт начало долина реки Ширкент, где расположен одноименный историко-природный парк, созданный в июне 1991 года с целью сохранения генофонда уникальной флоры и фауны, экосистем природных и культурных ценностей, а также рационального использования, надлежащего содержания и изучения юго-западного Гиссарского физико-географического района. Памятники природы и истории в долине реки Ширкент имеют большое научно-рекреационное значение и вместе с живописными ландшафтами составляют основное содержание историко-природного парка.

Самыми значительными среди геологических объектов являются три разновозрастных местонахождения следов динозавров, с общим количеством отпечатков ног вымерших ящеров более 400. Первое местонахождение со следами древних гигантских рептилий располагается в одном из правых притоков Ширкента, несколько выше одноимённого кишлака. Здесь на поверхности песчанистых известняков видны две цепочки четырёхпалых отпечатков. Длина отпечатков в среднем полметра, ширина – до 30 см, длина шага – около 75 см. Ввиду того, что следы, подобные ширкентским, нигде раньше не описывались, животное их оставившее, было отнесено к новому роду и виду динозавров из подотряда теропод (звероногих динозавров) и получило название Macropodosaurus gravis, что означает «Большеногий, тяжёлый ящер».

Информация о маршруте

Удаленность от г. Душанбе ~ 60 км, 2 часа ходьбы пешком, сложность маршрута - легкий .

Возможны однодневные походы (Выезд из Душанбе в 6:30, въезд в Душанбе в 19:00), возможно с детьми от 10 лет, при себе обязательно иметь паспорт.

Программа маршрута

Выезд в 6:45, прибытие в Регар в 7:30, 7:35 пересадка на Джипы и выезд из Регара в Ширкент, прибытие в Ширкент в 9:45, легкий завтрак в 9:50, начало похода в 10:00, обед в 13:00, 19:00 прибытие в Душанбе.

Для максимально комфортного трекинга рекомендуем взять с собой головной убор, полотенце, сменную обувь. По пути к озеру Тимур Дара мы встретим много диких растений, некоторых не желательно касаться обнаженными частями тела, поэтому рекомендуем вам надеть майку с длинными руковами и легкие спортивные штаны.